Aquarium: Re-scaping my 15 gallon/60 L tank

—Post for aquarium people—

4187f500-dc3c-42c5-8e80-05df71c5c64a

When I first started up this 15 gallon I went for what the guides say,  black substrate and heavy planting because it makes your fish look better and easier to maintain, since the plants absorb a lot.

After having this tank developing with that for over a year, the plants had grown and the carpet looked great. The downsides were many though. I only ever saw a few of my fish cause of the heavy planting. And because of the heavy planting some of my plants had nutrition deficiency, and if i added nutrients I ended up with algae, a battle I always seemed to be fighting. Eventually I had just low demanding plants. The black sand I added eventually turned blue as well. Bah.

Most importantly though, the gunk that came out of this tank every week was killing me. It was never ending and when a bacteria developed even though water changes were upped and my test kit told me the tank was good and it looked clean… I just had enough.

I already have white sand in my Betta tank and really enjoy it there and seeing it looking clean after every week (neat freak alert) I decided to go for that in this tank too. And to keep the plants spread and pruned enough so I can clean in between.

Here is the process and outcome!

IMG_5197
Before re-scape
IMG_5758
Completely emptied
IMG_5759
Adding poly filling to keep the rocks off the glass
IMG_5760
Rocks and sand has been added and water is added and planting starts
IMG_5764
Planting done
IMG_5799
After the water cleared, the shrimp and fish were added back
IMG_5800
Close up
IMG_5772
Close up: RCS
IMG_5811
I decided to add a red plant
4187f500-dc3c-42c5-8e80-05df71c5c64a
..and eventually decided to add ‘monte carlo’ carpet back around a shrimp cave

I removed most of my overgrown plants. I will probably continue developing this project as time passes. Possibly the shrimp will need a bit more coverage, but I’ll see.
Plants: Amazon swords, java fern, java fern mini, crypt. balansae, A. reineckii ‘Mini’ and Micranthemum ‘monte carlo’.

Fish: Pygmy Cory, Venezuelan Cory, otocinclus affinis, balloon mollies, a guppy, thick lip gourami, danios erythromicron and cherry shrimp.

I’m currently in the process of re-homing the mollies and guppies and gonna add more Red Cherry shrimp and when they have established I’ll add a large Ember Tetra school

Thanks for looking!

Knipsel

Leave a Reply

